Board of Commissioners



Mayor Larry Ward, Mayor Pro Tem Deanna C. Grubb, David Askew, Barbara Hogan, Julie Loflin, Scott Morris.

The Denton Board of Commissioners consists of five elected members and the Town Mayor. Members are elected to serve for 4 year staggered terms. The Mayor is the chief elected official of the Town, and presides at all meetings of the Council. The Mayor is not allowed to make motions or cast a vote, with the exception of a tie concerning matters before the Council.

The Board of Commissioners can be contacted by their constituents through Town Hall: 336-859-4231 or by their contact information below. The Mayor's office is located at Town Hall, 201 W. Salisbury Street. Please call Town Hall if you need to make an appointment to visit the Mayor. For more information on the Mayor, visit the Mayor's Office page.

The Board meets twice each month at Town Hall. You can view the 2020 meeting dates on the Commissioners Monthly Schedule page.

The Board of Commissioners invites all citizens to attend public Board meetings. Each meeting provides for public comment, at which time you can voice your concerns regarding Town business before the Board, or you can raise other issues that you concern you about our community.

Name Phone Number Email Address
Mayor Larry Ward 336-859-8003 Lward2004 @
Mayor Pro Tem Deanna Grub 336-859-3968 jgrubb @
Commissioner David Askew 336-859-4463 whoaskew @
Commissioner Barbara Hogan 336-859-4269
 sdhscrosscountry @
Commissioner Julie Loflin 336-859-2973  jloflin @
Commissioner Scott Morris 336-250-3039 scottmorris @ uwharrierealestate.

Rules of Procedure for the Board of Commissioners


The Town of Denton FY 20-21 Proposed Budget
information is now available. 

FY 20-21 Budget Message 
FY 20-21 Budget Ordinance
FY 20-21 Proposed Budget

Printed copies are available upon request at Town Hall, 336-859-4231. 


Denton Living